The “Five to Thrive” campaign was developed by Arkansas No Kid Hungry partners to encourage school districts across the state to offer a variety of nutrition and physical activity programming to improve student health and academic outcomes.

Currently, 22 Arkansas school districts have been designated as “Five to Thrive” districts by offering all five program components. How do you become a Five to Thrive district?


Participation requirements (implement all 5 components by fall 2020):

  • Serve a Breakfast After the Bell model (Breakfast in the Classroom, Grab and Go, Second Chance) and a universal meal program (Community Eligibility Provision, Provision 2 or other program offering meals at no charge to all students) in at least one school in the district
  • Serve USDA summer meals (Seamless Summer Option or Summer Food Service Program) and/or afterschool meals (Child and Adult Care Food Program) program
  • Offer a Cooking Matters or similar nutrition education program
  • Create a school-based food pantry or engage with a community partner to offer a weekend/school break student backpack or family meal program
  • Offer an in-school physical activity program (like Go Noodle or Fuel Up to Play 60)


Program Benefits:

  • Improved student health and academic outcomes (fewer trips to the school nurse, improved attendance, improved classroom concentration and behavior, growth in test scores)
  • Strengthened nutrition budget as meal participation grows (awardee districts have reported doubling of breakfast participation, growth in summer meal sites and increased meal reimbursements)
  • Eligibility for cash prizes and program implementation grants (districts are eligible for/have received No Kid Hungry grants to start or expand breakfast or summer/afterschool meal programs, plus will receive cash prizes for their nutrition departments)
  • Recognition as a child health and nutrition champion (participating districts will receive “5 to Thrive” certificates and local media notification)


Join these districts and become a “5 to Thrive” champion for 2019/20:

  • 2017/18 awardee districts: Cotter, Drew Central Monticello, Fort Smith, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Little Rock, North Little Rock, Pine Bluff, and Russellville
  • 2018/19 targeted districts: Blytheville, El Dorado, Forrest City, Highland, Jacksonville North Pulaski, Marion, Nashville, Prescott, Rogers, Springdale, Stuttgart, Two Rivers, and West Memphis


Learn more by contacting Vivian Nicholson, No Kid Hungry breakfast programs director, at or 501-276-6715.